Basketball season ends without champions

There will be no 2020 Colorado state basketball champions. After the girls semifinal games in the 3A, 4A and 5A classifications were played on March 12, the Colorado High School Activities …
Recent stories
In an April 2019 match, Ralston Valley freshman Nick Gates, right, avoids Golden senior Ben Brock as he looks to get off a shot at the North Area Athletic Complex.

Jeffco sports spring trips, games canceled

In the second week of March, the Wheat Ridge High boys’ baseball team learned that the team’s spring break trip, a tournament in Phoenix, had been canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic. A …
Durango junior Brenna Wolf (4) gets defensive pressure from Green Mountain sophomore Avery Oaster (24) and junior Courtney Hank (33) during the third quarter March 3 in the Class 4A Sweet 16 game at Green Mountain High School. The Rams head down to the Denver Coliseum for the Final 4 of the 4A state tournament to face Holy Family at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, March 12.

Green Mountain climbs into 4A girls hoops Final 4

LAKEWOOD — Green Mountain girls basketball coach Darren Pitzner stated before winter break that it could be a “memorable season.” Pitzner’s prediction was right on the money. The Rams’ …
Golden senior Ben McLaughlin (2) splits Pueblo East juniors Jaxson Herring (22) and Kyle Miller (23) during the first quarter March 4 during the Sweet 16 game at Golden High School. McLaughlin scored a game-high 24 points, but it wasn’t enough as the Demons lost 65-62 to end their season.

Golden boys basketball season ends in Sweet 16

GOLDEN — Pueblo East continues to have success against familiar foes during the Class 4A boys basketball state tournament. “When we saw them (Golden) on the bracket we knew it was revenge …
Ralston Valley sophomore Saya Sabus (2) pulls up for a 3-pointer over Cherry Creek sophomore Kinsey Christianson during the first quarter March 6 at the Denver Coliseum. The Mustangs had their season come to an end with a 46-33 loss to the defending 5A state champions.

Ralston Valley girls basketball season ends at the Denver Coliseum

DENVER — It’s become nearly a decade-long trend for Ralston Valley girls basketball coach Jeff Gomer to bring his Mustangs down to the Denver Coliseum. For the fifth time in six seasons and sixth …

Wheat Ridge senior Dominic Bronk (00) drives the lane during his final home basketball game for the Farmers on Feb. 26. Bronk finished playing a total of 83 varsity basketball games for Wheat Ridge during his high school basketball career. His 26 points against Canon City was his season high.

Wheat Ridge seniors lead in first round state tourney win

WHEAT RIDGE — Wheat Ridge senior Dominic Bronk played in his 82nd varsity boys basketball games in a Farmers’ uniform Feb. 26. “Taking this jersey off is going to be the hardest thing …
Standout Performers
Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.